top of page

My Inner Voice Sounds Like Betty White...

July 25, 2018, 6:51 PM

My inner voice sounds like Betty White…

Do you ever have those days where you’re just not feeling life? Like those days where everything just grates on your nerves and all you really want to do is not be around people? Those days are the worst. I hate them when they happen, but they do happen. I’ll sit there and contemplate the dumbest most irrelevant things. That in turn, makes me even more irritated because I know those things are trivial and trite. They have no bearing on anything important other than the fact they are annoying the hell out of me at the moment.

I’m almost thinking it’s some sort of stress reaction. For me, it always seems to happen after I’ve had a good run of things or sustained amounts of happiness. I know that sounds bleak and grim, but it’s the truth.

There always seems to be that little internal voice screaming, “What the hell, why are you in a good mood? We need to fix that, can’t have you be in a good mood for too long. That’ll just throw off the entire feng shui of the universe. Here, let’s correct course.”

If anyone is wondering, my inner voice often sounds like Betty White. Why Betty White? I have no idea. It probably has something to do with me watching the Golden Girls with my mom all the time when I was a kid, just roll with me on this one.

I’ll take one train ticket to self-doubt city. That’s where the grass in kind of a dead brown. The closest thing you’re going to see to a pretty lady is a cardboard cutout of Chris Farley in Drag. (I’m probably dating myself with that sad take on a classic song reference, but whatever) If that isn’t bleak, I don’t know what is. Although the later portion might make me laugh and cheer me up a little. Chris Farley frickin’ ruled.

Over time, I’ve learned a few things that help me get out of these funks. Does it always work? No, but it usually helps.

Do something entertaining like watch a movie or play a video game.

Go for a walk.

Try to use it as a muse for creating something. Art, writing, music, whatever your leanings are when it comes to artistic medium.

One thing I’ve always found helps me as well is separating myself from whatever might have triggered my irritation. Granted life doesn’t always allow for that, but there are times when a few moments alone can make a big difference.

Then again, I’ve found sometimes being around friends and just chatting and getting your mind off what’s bothering you is a huge burden breaker.

I guess my point is, don’t let those moments set you back. We’re all entitled to them, we all have them, but the key is to let that dull your shine. Have your bad day, get through it and wake up tomorrow with a smile. Sometimes it’s not easy, but for most of us when you look at the grand scheme of things. It was probably something inconsequential that set you off on that path to begin with.

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

© 2013-2017 by Thomas Washburn Jr Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page